To iPhone or not iPhone…

22 07 2008

So the question started about a month or so ago, and I have to be honest it hasn’t been all apps and games. I’m a hacker from the old windows mobile 5 days. Had a t-mobile mda with every mod hack I could get my hands on. I was like the rest of the world, if it didn’t have push technology and/or exchange server sync I didn’t need it.

Then it happened, iPhone 3g. No, I’m not going to tell you about all the amazing features; this post is about all the amazing dreams I have for the iPhone and how it can impact ministry today.

Imagine life group enrollment, volunteer sign-up, VBS registration, and so many other possibilities in the palm of your hand. Did I mention that the rest of the world can use these features to?

With the launch of the 3g came this new SDK available to anyone. The software development kit for the iPhone means it’s a whole new ball game; yeah, I can copy and paste some code, but I don’t have to anymore. Apple has given the every day guy or gal like you and me the possibility to create web interfaces and applications so easily that anyone can do it…and they are! Just take a look at the ever growing list of apps and web apps on the apple website. Did I mention that research shows the number 1 fastest type of web app is church sites? Or maybe you should just click the link at the top of this page to our downloads page; my first app is sitting there, it’s an rss feed widget, so the user can get pushed info to your dashboard anytime you want. Hmmm, what a novel idea! As Christians we should not be new to this thought; the Word of God is the same way to us. Make it available, make it readable, and finally make it replicable.

So guys, this is my vow, now that the novelty is almost gone and the need sets in, I will use all that He has given me, iPhone included, to make a difference for His pleasure always.

Sean
Sent from my iPhone

photo

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

